Academic Calendar

2013 First Semester
August
Friday, August 16 Prefects Return for Prefect Retreat
Saturday, August 18 Football Players Report for Practice (Pre-registration required)
Monday, August 19 Middle School BBQ for New Students 5:30 p.m.
Tuesday, August 20 All Dorm Councils Return between noon and 8 p.m.
Thursday, August 22 All Admissions, Class Councils, and Orientation Staff Return for Leadership Workshop
Friday, August 23 Orientation for New Boarding Students
Saturday, August 24 Orientation for New Day Students and All Returning Students
Middle School Retreat
Monday, August 26 First Semester Classes Begin
Convocation
Saturday, August 31 Senior Retreat
September
Friday-Sunday, August 30-September 1 Familia Weekend (Required closed weekend for boarding students)
Class Dinners and Challenges
Thursday, September 13

Happy Anniversary, SBS!
Founded September 13, 1922

Friday, September 14

Freshman Retreat

October
Saturday, October 5 Middle School Day Parent/Teacher Conferences
Friday-Sunday, October 11-13 Alumni/Homecoming Weekend
Friday, October 18 Long Weekend begins after last obligation on Friday
Monday, October 21 Boarding Students return by 9 p.m.
Tuesday, October 22 Classes Resume
Friday-Sunday, October 25-27 Family Weekend
Parent/Teacher Conferences
Saturday, October 26 Upper School Day and ALL Boarding Parent/Teacher Conferences
November
Friday, November 22 Thanksgiving Break begins after last obligation on Friday
Saturday, November 23 Dorms Close at 12 Noon
December
Monday, December 2 Boarding Students return by 9 p.m. (Dorms open at 11 a.m.)
Tuesday, December 3 Classes Resume
Friday-Wednesday, December 13-18 First Semester Final Exams (includes exam on Saturday, December 14)
Wednesday, December 18 Christmas Break begins after last obligation
Thursday, December 19 Dorms close at 12 Noon
2014 Second Semester
January
Sunday, January 5 Boarding Students return by 9 p.m. (Dorms open at 11 a.m.)
Monday, January 6 Second Semester Classes Begin
Febuary
Thursday-Saturday, February 6-8 Theatre Arts Society Winter Play
Friday, February 14
Saturday, February 15
Spring Break begins after last obligation on Friday
Dorms Close at 12 Noon
March 
Sunday, March 2 Boarding Students return by 9 p.m. (Dorms open at 11 a.m.)
Monday, March 3 Classes Resume
April 
Thursday, April 17 Easter Weekend begins after last obligation on Thursday
Monday, April 21 Boarding Students return by 9 p.m. (Dorms open at 11 a.m.)
Tuesday, April 22 Classes Resume
May 
Friday-Sunday, May 16-18 Required closed weekend for boarding students
Friday-Thursday, May 16-22 Final Exams
Friday, May 23 Baccalaureate and Class Night
Saturday, May 24 Commencement
Saturday, May 24 Dorms close at 6 p.m.